Hawaii Will (Hopefully) Become the First State to Raise the Smoking Age to 21

Here’s something that makes a lot of sense: Hawaii is set to become the first state to raise the minimum age for smoking to 21.

Lawmakers have passed the bill and it’s been approved by the state Senate – the decision to sign it into law will be made by Governor David Ige this Friday, which will come into effect on January 1, 2016.

On top of prohibiting the sale of cigarettes to anyone under 21 years old, the new law will also make it illegal for those underage to smoke and possess them. First-time offenders will will be slapped with a $10 fine, followed by a $50 fine or community service for repeat offences.

E-cigarrettes will be subject to the same regulations (their use among middle and high school students in the U.S. has tripled in a year).

It’s a great start, but maybe we should just ban smoking altogether.

Guillermo has a pretty great solution too..


Want more updates on the most Notable things happening so you know before your colleagues do? Get our exclusive newsletter here and follow us on Twitter for all the latest.